top of page
  • Neenah Pickett

July 4 - Half Way There, But a Long Way to Go


I’m at my half way point of my 52 weeks, and although I’ve had some great dates, more numerous than years combined, I still haven’t found him (cynics insert “I told you so” here). But it’s not over until the fat lady sings, and I haven’t hummed a tune in months. However, I have made some interesting observations along the way…

Most Embarrassing Moment: • being stood up at a nice Manhattan restaurant

Biggest mistake • Forgetting that going on a date is not an appointment to meet my potential soulmate, but instead a just a fun night out with good company

Greatest triumph • Not feeling desperate

Most naïve moment • Thinking that good PR would keep men lining up to see me

Most realistic thought– • Knowing that it would take lots of work

Best advice: • “Despite what the "experts" say, you don't have to be complete, fixed, perfect, whole or even in your right mind for love to target you - just be as ready as you can be at any given moment and love yourself no matter what.” (thanks ylhoff)

Worse advice • You should stop looking, and love will just find you

Biggest almost fooled: • When a guy wants to go weeks with emailing me, texting me, or talking on the phone, but has not asked me out, something’s up (he’s probably married or has some other secret). I refused to be a technology mistress and started to nip things in the bud.

Best first date • The guy who made me laugh so hard I choked on my coffee

Hardest thing I’ve done to find him – • Throwing my own speed dating party

What I’m most looking forward to over these next 26 weeks: • An amazing third date

Most fun webdate • Mr. Massachusetts who made what could have been an awkward "how does this work" moment fun.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page