top of page
  • Neenah Pickett

September 1 - After You’ve Traded Online Places – What’s Next?



In my video I describe the results of my “Trading Online Places” challenge. This experiment was fun, interesting and helpful in so many ways. It reminds me of what these last 34 weeks have been like. But I haven’t found “him” and it brings up the question, can the journey be fun, interesting and helpful when you’re not successful at attaining your goal? If you’re hoping to become a lawyer, but keep failing the bar; if you’re hoping to become a parent; but the pregnancy tests read negative, if you’re hoping to find a job, but your phone never rings--- what should you do? Unless you’re ready to give up - and there’s certainly nothing wrong with giving up in a particular area and changing your goal – but if you’re not ready to do that, than I’d have to echo the words of someone I’d never thought I’d quote… Miley Cyrus: “It’s all about the climb.”

I am determined to enjoy this journey, no matter how silly or fruitless others may think it be. A friend asked me the other day, “aren’t you just ready to give up?” In my head, I’ve said “yes” a million times over the last 34 weeks. But there are 3 reasons I know I’ve stuck it out this long: 1st because I’m a goal oriented person and deadlines really do make a difference, 2nd because I have so many people, who through email or in person, are encouraging me, and finally because I really am having the best time. So, what’s next for me is to do as Hannah Montana suggested, “keep the faith.”

In my video below I describe the results of my “Trading Online Places” challenge. This experiment was fun, interesting and helpful in so many ways. It reminds me of what these last 34 weeks have been like. But I haven’t found “him” and it brings up the question, can the journey be fun, interesting and helpful when you’re not successful at attaining your goal? If you’re hoping to become a lawyer, but keep failing the bar; if you’re hoping to become a parent; but the pregnancy tests read negative, if you’re hoping to find a job, but your phone never rings--- what should you do? Unless you’re ready to give up - and there’s certainly nothing wrong with giving up in a particular area and changing your goal – but if you’re not ready to do that, than I’d have to echo the words of someone I’d never thought I’d quote… Miley Cyrus: “It’s all about the climb.”

I am determined to enjoy this journey, no matter how silly or fruitless others may think it be. A friend asked me the other day, “aren’t you just ready to give up?” In my head, I’ve said “yes” a million times over the last 34 weeks. But there are 3 reasons I know I’ve stuck it out this long: 1st because I’m a goal oriented person and deadlines really do make a difference, 2nd because I have so many people, who through email or in person, are encouraging me, and finally because I really am having the best time. So, what’s next for me is to do as Hannah Montana suggested, “keep the faith.”


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page